SEMI COLON

On the days when the sun burns our scalp,
And our throats scratch with thirst,
For the days when our flesh threatens to burst out of our skins,
I hope we remember to pause;

On the nights when sleep departs,
Abandoning us to our thoughts,
When we cannot even close our eyes,
For the fear of the figures that appear beneath our duvets,
I hope we remember to pause;

At the times we cannot feel our legs,
When we are too weak, too burnt out,
When the goal seems out of reach,
And home feels too far,
I hope we remember to pause;

We are young and it is too early to end our story⏹️
When it is not, right to put a comma⏸️
When we do not have enough energy for the exclamation ❗
And it is not even a question of quitting❓
I hope we remember to pause ❣️

I hope you remember to pause,
And remember that I am home,
That you can come to me,
When you need to talk,
And when you require silence,
I hope my voice reminds you of the music that calms your nerves,
And the memories of us, a reason to pick yourself up and move ahead,
The grind is real and so are you,
So know when to pause!

I wrote this for you.
Wanyiri, 2022

Leave a comment